Mandatory Minimum Penalties For Drunk Driving In Washington

Any DUI conviction is a serious matter that can bring the loss of your license, large fines, increased car insurance premiums, the installation of an ignition interlock device (IID), electronic home monitoring (EHM) or jail time. If you are convicted of a second, third or fourth DUI in Washington, however, you face greater penalties, including those mandated by the state. These include:

  • Mandatory minimum fines, which can be as high as $5,000
  • Mandatory minimum fines for driving with a passenger under the age of 16, which can be as high as $10,000
  • Mandatory minimum jail time or EHM
  • Mandatory two- or three-year license revocation
  • More severe penalties for subsequent offenses involving BAC above .15 or a refusal
  • Education or treatment

A Vancouver Multiple DUI Lawyer: Free Initial Consultations

Vancouver, Washington, defense lawyer Jeff Staples provides affordable representation to clients in DUI cases involving a subsequent offense. A former Clark County prosecutor, he is committed to protecting the rights and interests of his clients in important criminal and traffic matters.

If you have been charged with a second, third or fourth DUI and you are facing serious penalties, having proper defense representation is essential. Attorney Jeff Staples understands the civil and criminal aspects of drunk driving charges, and he can help you address your DUI matter.

Contact Jeff Staples For A Free Consultation

If you have questions about mandatory minimum penalties for drunk driving in Washington, Jeff can answer them. He offers a free consultation regarding all DUI/DWI matters. Contact Vancouver defense attorney Jeff Staples to learn more.